Tate Badges

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 20.56.43These are my badges for the Tate.  The first is a response to Warhol’s Marilyn Monroe prints that I have created a similar effect with celebrity singer Rita Ora. I believe I have chose appropriate use of colours in my design and I feel like it does actually capture the essence of one of Warhol’s own prints. Rita Ora is also famous globally which is why I chose her to go down the same mass production route of the Media churning out celebrities.

Next is a badge that I have designed inspired by Warhol’s Campbell’s soup. I have tried to keep it in the same printed style as Warhol’s and I think I have nearly achieved it. I think all of the food connotation that surrounds it has now gone and I now see it as a piece of art, focusing on the colours and typography rather than a mass produced product.

Lastly is an actual piece of artwork created by Warhol himself. I wanted to keep this as a badge so people, if they were buying my badges, could actually have an original piece of Pop Art rather than a response to him.

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 21.26.03I have also designed a badge holder for my badges to be sold on. This consists of a front featuring some of Warhol’s early wallpaper prints, and individual sections for my badges to be pinned into. On the back we have a description of the badges as well as a brief summary of Warhol’s part in the art movement. I have also included the Tate Logo as well as a euro slot which is how the badges would hang on a shelf for retail.

Leave a Reply

