Collage Artists

I wanted to have a look at a few collage artists as it may inform me of what styles and techniques I can experiment with in my zine. Hannah Hoch was a German Dada artist best known for her photomontages, in which she was one of the originators. Her work often involves people and faces being manipulated to create these interesting, sometimes strong characters.

Richard Hamilton is another well known collage artist who was born in London. ‘Just what is it that makes today’s homes so different, so apphamilton_pic_1996547b.jpgealing?’ is a piece of work done by Hamilton that I have seen many times and always find interesting. It has been said to be the first piece of pop art work to achieve ‘iconic’ status.

I like how the artwork looks like it has been cut out from different furniture catalogues and pieced together to create this scene. The collage technique used here is what I want to achieve in my zine by using the same cut out magazine effect.

Leave a Reply

