Collage Research

Collage is a technique that I want to research for my subcultures project as I think it could be a very engaging design style for my subculture Teddy Boys. I want to look at existing famous pieces of collage artwork to see what artists can inspire me, and see some of their own techniques and processes in how they create their work.

Hannah Höch:

(http://www.whitechapelgallery.org/about/press/hannah-hoch/)

Hannah Höch was an important member of the Berlin Dada movement and a pioneer in collage. Splicing together images taken from popular magazines, illustrated journals and fashion publications, she created a humorous and moving commentary on society during a time of tremendous social change. Acerbic, astute and funny, Höch established collage as a key medium for satire whilst being a master of its poetic beauty.

I particularly like the simplicity in some of Höch’s work, however the minimal style can communicate so much more beyond the design which is something I want to achieve.

Kurt Schwitters

(http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/kurt-schwitters-1912)

Schwitters is a German artist who worked in several genres and media, including Dadaism, Constructivism, Surrealism, poetry, sound, painting, sculpture, graphic design, typography, and what came to be known as installation art. He is most famous for his collages, called Merz Pictures.

What I really like about Schwitters work is the mixed media aspect, in which it features anything from torn paper, newspapers, imagery, stamps, typography. This is something that I would like to experiment with if I were to choose collage for my cover.

Richard Hamilton

Hamilton is another well known collage artist who was born in London. ‘Just what is it that makes today’s homes so different, so appealing?’ is a piece of work done by Hamilton that I have seen many times and always find interesting. It has been said to be the first piece of pop art work to achieve ‘iconic’ status. I like how the artwork looks like it has been cut out from different furniture catalogues and pieced together well enough to look realistic enough to create some of these scenes.

 

Leave a Reply

