Digital Collaging

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 19.44.30.pngAfter scanning my sketches into Photoshop and adjusting the brightness and contrast, I then needed to find a blending mode that would work best for me to get the effect the creeper shoe had been drawn over my mixed media collage. I found the best blending modes to be multiply and overlay to achieve this effect. The blending mode divide created a white chalk like sketch instead Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 13.57.03.pngof the pencil colour, I actually liked how this looked but looking at as an overall design I didn’t feel like it suited the rest of the collage theme.

The background colour of my collage is created by using an eye drop from the tea stain collage in my design, creating a solid feel over the design and halving the opacity, this allows me to keep the Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 14.01.57.pngstained aged look.

Following the same processes I added my two other sketches in. Because this was digital I had complete control over the location and scale of my sketches which was really helpful.

 

 

screen-shot-2017-01-18-at-19-44-48After incorporating my sketches I was pleased with how the design was coming along. I wanted to add a title to the cover that would also intertwine with my collage. I chose a serif typeface as it keeps the traditional look that the Teddy Boys supported with their clothing. I used clipping masks to cut out pieces of the text so it gave the effect pieces of the collage were overlaid on top of it.

I was happy with the outcome, however after looking at some of the creative review books I had I noticed that it isn’t something Creative Review actually incorporate in their covers, so I don’t want to use it in my design as I want to follow the brief as closely as possible. I may now experiment with another sketch or even try some found type from magazines to create my title so it ties in with the collage.

 

 

Leave a Reply

