Muse: Subtle Touches

To give the website some life and more engaging to the user I wanted to include some small rollover techniques.

To do this you simply need to click on the desired text, icon, image and then at the top left of the Muse screen you can access the properties of the selected element. You can then change four options, the normal look, rollover, mouse down (clicked) and when it is active.

I wanted to include a subtle light blue colour through the site with the black and white scheme. Looking at the semiotics and colour theory of blue which states the color is one of trust, responsibility, honesty and loyalty. It is sincere, reserved and quiet, and doesn’t like to make a fuss or draw attention. These are all qualities that I want to convey through my portfolio as a responsible and trustworthy designer that I believe I am.

I have blue rollover on my menu text items. This also has a small short fade into the colour which is something small but gives more depth to button. I think rollover is something you need in a website for users to know that the text actually acts as a button.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 13.38.59

On the main page slideshow I also put a 50% grey fade effect on each image when they are rolled over to show they are clickable and take you to another page, without this in preview mode I could see people missing out on the pages linked to the slideshow, which is also why I added the text underneath.

 

Leave a Reply

