Environment Ideas (Cyprus)

Before half term we were introduced to the environments brief. During the holiday I visited Cyprus, with the brief in mind I took lots of photos of environments that I explored, from Aphrodite’s Rock, Wine Tasting villages and the beaches. I think this would be a good choice of environments to do for my double page spreads.

During my visit I also visited a few of Cyprus’ monasteries, these were really interesting and full of detailed religious paintings and illustrations. Unfortunately most of these did not allow photos inside. Also I visited Pathos Zoo, which I have a lot of images from that could also be used for a double page spread.

One idea for a theme of the double page spread could be the division the country has. ‘Cyprus has been divided since 1974 when Turkey invaded the north in response to a military coup on the island which was backed by the Athens government. It is divided into thirds, one third of the Turkish Cypriots and two thirds Greek Cypriots.

There is a green line that divides the two sides, I visited the green line through the capital Nicosia which was armed by Turkish Police. This theme of division could be something I can explore, and incorporate it into the two pages that I have.

Leave a Reply

