Learning from Research

Throughout this project my research has be fundamental for me to carry out and learn from. Firstly researching into double page spreads helped my by understanding what editorial designs works well, what is used in professional current magazines and techniques and process that I can use. Looking at good and bad editorial work has helped me avoid any potholes that I could come across in my process, such as loosing text and imagery down the gutter of a spread.

Researching photographers such as Ansel Adams and seeing stark contrast in black and white photography from his work also helped me edit my own photographs, experimenting with curves and contrast to create rich blacks and bright highlights.

Ansel Adams (left) – My own edited photography (right)

 

 

Leave a Reply

