The Crystal Spread

As the Crystal trip was one of our firsts visits for this editorial project I didn’t have a great understanding of the type of photos I wanted to get or what I would actually discover whilst I was there.

It would of been helpful for me to do some quick research of the exhibits inside the crystal as then I could of focused my photography on one aspect rather than having to walk the entire way around and take lots of photographs of everything so I could decide later.

However I did achieve some nice shots from this trip, and I also found interesting the information they had on electric vehicles and how they are improving our environment.

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 10.25.36.png

I chose to divide my spread into 2/3 (two thirds) for the main imagery and one third for my body text and smaller images. This is a layout I have seen used many times and something I liked whist sketching out my thumbnail ideas.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 08.48.41.png

Above is my finished spread. I’m pleased with how this spread has developed even though it was probably my least favourite to complete out of the 4 spreads. I think my typographic title with the use of contrast between the sans serif and serif type pairing works well as an opening with the photography of the crystal behind.

Leave a Reply

