Evaluation and Reflection

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

I have considered and explored editorial design a great deal throughout this project which the brief asks for. My use of typography and photography have well thought about and planned with reasoning between each pairing.

I have took a lot of time before designing to look at the good and the bad of page layout, looking at underlying grids and how they make a design work.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I have tried my best to meet all aspects of the brief, the thing I feel I could of done more of is researching and exploring more photographers.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

My strengths definitely lay within my photography. I spent a lot of time experimenting with different settings on my camera such as the aperture and exposure to get interesting and dynamic shots of my environment. I have also tried different editorial practices such as ornaments at the end of the article and text wrap to add character to the spread.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

The only points I can think of as weakness was not getting enough of an idea at the crystal of what to base my photography round. I would of liked to get some more interesting shots like on my other spreads, I don’t feel this spread has the same power to draw peoples attention.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

I don’t feel like any of my spreads could be mis-understood, especially not in a bad way. I have been considering my photograph and page layout throughout this project to avoid and mis-understandings.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

My time keeping was relatively good this project, I planned out what I needed to do in line with the brief and set myself targets for what I wanted to accomplish each lesson and what blog posts needed to be done.

How was my analysis of the brief?

I analysed the brief well. We went over it a few times in class so my understanding of it was good. The brief was also clear what needed to be done, and the things I needed to cover such as typography and photo pairings.

How was my research? 

My research consisted of learning about existing page layouts, the good and the bad. I also looked into photographers that I could get inspiration from, such as Ansel Adams for landscapes and black and white photography and Frederic Schlosser for automotive photography.

My own photography is also my research which was overall very good. I thought about each photo and how it could work to convey the environment I was looking at.

How did I draw conclusions from my research? 

I learnt what was good editorial design was, and also things to avoid such as letting things cross over the gutter and getting lost, too much use of text wrap can ruin a spread and make small channels of text.

I also learnt about photography styles, what these styles can portray such as black and white photography giving aspects of time and age.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas? 

Creating contact sheets of my photography helped me choose which photograph was the best and what I could use in my spread. With my research into spreads I also created thumbnail sketches that helped me generate new ideas that I could experiment with.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

Thought this project I have evaluated my own work to see what works and what doesn’t, there has been a number of changes throughout. I was critical with my page layouts and photography used as I wanted to create an authentic, professional looking outcome.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective? 

By doing a lot more divergent thinking would of made my experimentation more effective, I done a fair amount of experimentation in my layouts and photography editing however more could of been done to help improve this.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

Demonstrated an awareness of visually communicating to a specific audience.

(2) Developed and experimented with appropriate media, aesthetics and visual language.

(3) Explored the relationship between research and practice. 

I have shown that I have achieved the learning outcomes by looking into my target audience from the brief and magazine called ‘photography now’. My work is aimed at photographers who want to learn about photography, cameras, and composition.

I have experimented with a lot of media from sketches, photography editing and page layout designing.

I have made blog posts about what I have learnt from my research and how this has translated into my final pieces.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I really enjoyed having the opportunity to explore photography more as it is something I enjoy doing. Editorial design is also something that I like creating so combing the two made for an enjoyable project overall.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

I didn’t enjoy writing the articles for the spread as I struggled with what to write about.

Leave a Reply

