Alien Type Evaluation

‘You decide what they are trying to say – but your designs must work in terms of a human film audience understanding the translation reveal at the end of the film. You must base your designs on having explored a variety of non-Latin letterforms, goldsmiths and printers marks and other sign and symbol systems.’

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 17.52.45I struggled at the start of this brief, at first I hated the thought of what it was asking for, however I had the choice of this brief or another memorial one. However I thought I would try this one after researching for the other one, this wasted a bit of time which I was annoyed about but I’m glad I changed my mind.

I like the thought behind my design decisions for my alien type. Creating sketches and looking into non-latin letterforms and symbols such as arabic writing and Zapf Dingbats helped me come away from trying to make letterforms but symbols instead. I have mocked up the type in a classically linked crop field, as the circular design was inspired by this. This was my least favourite brief out of them all and I allocated myself the least time for it, however I’m happy with the outcome. If I were to do it again I think I would experiment with more abstract shapes to create a really engaging design.

Leave a Reply

